Book reviews, NetGalley

The Replacement Wife by Eileen Goudge

Title: The replacement wife
Author: Eileen Goudge
Print Length: 484 pages
Publisher: Open Road
Publishing Date: March 27, 2012
Source: Open Road Publications at NetGalley

Goodreads Summary: Camille Hart, one of Manhattan’s most sought-after matchmakers, has survived more than her fair share of hardships. Her mother died when she was a young girl, leaving her and her sister with an absentee father. Now in her forties, she has already survived cancer once, though the battle revealed just how ill-equipped her husband Edward is to be a single parent. So when doctors tell Camille that her cancer is back—and this time it’s terminal—she decides to put her matchmaking expertise to the test for one final job. Seeking stability for her children and happiness for her husband, Camille sets out to find the perfect woman to replace her when she’s gone.

But what happens when a dying wish becomes a case of “be careful what you wish for”? For Edward and Camille, the stunning conclusion arrives with one last twist of fate that no one saw coming.

At once deeply felt and witty, The Replacement Wife is an unforgettable story of love and family, and a refreshing look at the unexpected paths that lead us to our own happy endings.

Pre-order it- AMAZON | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide | Add on Goodreads

My Views: Phew, this was a long read, almost 500 pages.

I was on a whirlwind rollercoaster throughout this book.

There were times when I wanted to scream, ‘NO YOU CAN’T DO THAT. NO, NO, NO. WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING, DAMNIT?’

There was a point when I really wanted to stop reading, when I wanted to give up on the book. Not because it wasn’t interesting or it got boring but because it was so shattering, almost like the earth beneath my feet had been swept away. I just wanted to kick the hell out of him (I m not telling you who) and bring him to his senses. Dude what you are doing, seriously. Oh, it can’t be. So with a broken heart, I read on.

And then later I was screaming all kinds of abuses, which is so uncharacteristic of me. It was just so unfair. I don’t know I almost cried but I couldn’t. It was almost like I had to be strong for one of the characters. Yes, that is how it was. I was rooting for a character because they are so beautifully etched, it’s like you know them intimately.

This book broke my heart and badly so. I literally screamed and hurled abuses so many times, which is so not me. I believe that the book portrays reality but it played havoc with my heart which yearns for fairy tales and believes in happy endings.

Having said that all, I still liked the book for its novel concept and the way it is dealt with even though I resisted pulling my hair in frustration so many times.

Anyone out there who has read this? I want to chat with you.

4/5 – I really liked it.

11 thoughts on “The Replacement Wife by Eileen Goudge”

  1. Pragya, The author here checking in. So lovely to get your comment on my Facebook page and to see your wonderful review of THE REPLACEMENT WIFE. Did you get my reply? I would be more than happy to donate a copy of the book to your giveaway promotion. Just let me know your mailing address.

    Like

      1. For awhile now, I’ve held to an unromantic notion that romantic feelings suck because they lead to too much unnecessary pain, often without someone to blame. No matter how noble our actions or their actions are, we still want the people we happen to fall in love with to be “in love” with us as well, or else it’s just horrible. And whose fault is it if that isn’t the case? Or if it eventually ceases to be the case? Well, this book totally reinforces my belief.

        I finished reading a few days ago but finally processed my thoughts enough to write a little review: http://tiredcoder.blogspot.com/2012/04/book-review-replacement-wife.html Happy to discuss more if you’d like!

        Like

  2. Wow, your review was incredible! I normally don’t do long books but I just might have to pick this one up.
    Lauren

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.